top of page

Shipping from the US to Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesia – Oceania Export Market Series

Updated: Apr 3, 2023

This post will complete our Oceania Market Series. While it includes many different countries and islands, the bulk of which get the majority of their GDP from the tourism industry, shipping to these nations offers a great opportunity to those shippers who service industries that cater to the tourism industry including food, beverages, and agricultural products, construction equipment, transportation equipment, and machinery.

Ocean Freight services to these islands typically are from the US West Coast ports of Seattle, Oakland and Los Angeles/Long Beach. As an international freight forwarder and NVOCC, we offer buyer’s consolidation and full container load services to many of these islands. LCL services are less common but available to certain islands.

Air Freight services are available to the main islands, please inquiry with us to learn more. Typically, if you are shipping over 100 kilograms, we will be competitive for air freight compared if you are shipping with a courier/parcel service from the US.

We will briefly mention the countries in each area of the Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesian Islands.


The main islands in Melanesia include Vanuatu (with the seaports of Port Vila and Santo), the Solomon Islands (seaports Noro and Honiara), Fiji (seaports Suva and Lautoka and international airport Nadi), and Papua New Guinea (largest seaport Port Moresby), as well as the French special collectivity of New Caledonia (seaport of Noumea).


The Micronesia region encompasses five nations: the Federated States of Micronesia, Palau, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, and Nauru—. They also include as well as three U.S. territories in the northern part: Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, and Wake Island.


Many may not know this, but Hawaii and New Zealand are a part of Polynesia. For purposes of this post, we will exclude them and focus on the smaller islands within this archipelago.

The largest islands within this 1,000 island archipelago are Tuvalu, Tokelau, Samoa, Niue, Tonga, Cook Islands, Society Island Easter Island.

French Polynesia has 5 archipelagos which include the Society Islands (largest islands are Tahiti and Bora-Bora), the Tuamotu Archipelago, the Gambier Archipelago, the Marquesas Islands, and the Austral Islands. These 5 archipelagos comprise of 118 islands, 65 of which are inhabited. 70% of the population in French Polynesia live in Tahiti, half of those living in the capital Papeete.

Contact us today at (800) 874 4748 or request a quote.



bottom of page